But God….Why?

stop complaining

As I was on my way home from work God spoke to me as I listened to a song written by Lecrae. The song is ca0lled “blessings”. As I listened to this song God spoke to me and told 89me, “do not be like my people the Israelites. Do not complain about your today, but praise me for saving you from your yesterday.” This spoke to me in so many ways. God took me to Exodus 16:3,

“and the people of Israel said to them, “Would that we had died by the hand of the LORD in the land of Egypt, when we sat by the meat pots and ate bread to the full, for you have brought us out into this wilderness to kill this whole assembly with hunger.” (ESV)

These people complained about their yesterday and completely forgot about their promised tomorrow. See, we as Christian complain, get angry, and rebel against God when we don’t see things the way he does. The Bible says, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.” (Is. 55:8, ESV) It’s so easy for us to lose hope and trust in God. It is so easy for us to forget who our God is. It is so easy for us to forget the promises God gave us. God saved us from slavery to sin. He saved us from the world. God loved us and took us from our captivity. When we did not deserve his help, he helped us. When we did not deserve his love, he loved us. When we did not deserve his mercy, he gave it abundantly. When we did not deserve forgiveness, he forgave.

Why do we forget!? Today, do not complain to God about the blessing that you have not received. Instead, praise his name for the blessings that you already have!

The reason is because we focus on what we don’t have instead of what God has already given us! We focus too much on where we are at in life, instead of realizing where God brought us out from! Today, do not complain to God about the blessing that you have not yet received. Instead, praise his name for the blessings that you already have! Praise him for the blessings yet to come!

5 thoughts on “But God….Why?

  1. Admiring the time and effort you put into your website and in depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

