Snappy Chat Chat

after-eden-social-media.jpg

I once heard a song that said the following, “Dios tiene el clave de tu snapchat”. For my readers that do not speak Spanish this statement literally says “God has the code to your snap chat”. Yes, most people do not literally lock or even have a code to their snapchat, but, this does not just include snapchat, it also includes facebook, Instagram, twitter, etc.

So, the question, what does it mean?

It’s easy, let’s say hypothetically if God was to come down from heaven grab your cell phone and began looking through all of your social media apps, would he be proud of what he sees? Will he say, “well done my faithful servant” or will he say, ” away from me, you never knew me”. These are serious questions that we as Christians should ask ourselves. Through our social media, are we glorifying the Lord? Or, are we satisfying our worldly desires? Are we constantly complaining on facebook about the life we don’t have or are we glorifying God for the life he gives us every day? Some serious questions to ask, but all I ever see on Facebook today is complaints. How my day was so horrible, how I hate my job, how my neighbour doesn’t understand me, etc. Is this what God had in mind social media was created? Colossians 3:17 says,

“And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

It says in words and in deeds, do everything in the name of Jesus. I’m sure that when this verse was written God had social media in mind. Many of us forget that God sees the past the present and the future. We forget that God knows all things and that even though the scriptures were written many years ago, it still pertains to us today. I believe that this verse still holds its value and includes our social media. It is so easy to use social media as an escape and as a way to vent our feelings, but isn’t that what prayer is for? The Bible says, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18,

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Before I end I want to challenge my readers. I want you to begin posting scriptures or word of encouragement. When the day is tough and you feel like venting on Facebook, use the holy social media called prayer. Pray and vent to God so that he may hear your prayers and answer them. Scripture says in Romans 12:2,
“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Please, comment your thoughts!

God Bless!

V/R

The Unidentified Believer

Leave a Reply

